The Day of the Whiny Post

Klepsacovic declared it national whiny post day today.  And far be it from me to go against the grain.

Larisa touched on the loneliness aspect of gameplay today, and Spinks wrote about progression raiding, and the likeness to work.

By sheer coincidence I am going to whine about both.

I mentioned in a recent post that my raid has a few holes in it.  Well, there are two to be precise.  The first is from a hunter, who always was one of the highest caliber players I have ever played with.  She recently got a promotion that requires her to travel much more than she currently does, and is unable to commit to a regular raid, instead taking the “fill in” spot.  I completely respect her, family and career come first, for sure.

The second is a lock.  He is also one of the highest calliber raiders I have ever run with.  Rarely ever stood in the fire, almost always top the DPS chart, always doing extreme research for the raid (or whatever he was doing for that matter).  He was always an asset to the guild, never a burden.

Unfortunately for us, he felt the call of higher raiding.

I have always said that pretty much anyone on our raid team could raid for the big guilds, if they got the shot, and if their schedule permitted such.  But most of us don’t like that mentality.  We are what Kyr would call “Casual Hardcore.”  I wouldn’t even go so far as to say that, we are more like “Casual Focused.”  We raid anywhere from 4 (short week) to 6 (long week) hours a week.  That is it.  Two nights.  Yes, that does hurt us in some respects, we could probably be up to Lich King if we raided 20 hours a week.  Maybe even have him down.  But our group really does not like that mentality.  We are here to have fun, not a second job.

Respecting the lock’s wishes, we bade our farewells, and he silently gquit.  However, he left all of his alts in our guild, because of the friends he made.

In any event, last night was a fun night for the guild.  Our guildmaster put on a “leprechaun hunt” through the forests of Elwynn.  With no mounts, no tracking, no nothing but a cryptic clue that was given at the start, our guild poured out of goldshire hoping to be the one to win the golden pot.  The whole affair lasted about an hour, and much laughter and jollymaking was had by all.

The lock was on during the start of the event on one of his alts.  But soon after it started, he had to leave to join up with a raid group on his main toon.

A curious thing happened later that night.

The lock whispered me, and we got into a conversation about how his raid went (we are still friends, after all), and PvP plans (we have a 3v3 arena team), and other plans for the rest of the week.

And you know what?  He admitted that he regretted the decision to leave our guild.

After chatting with him some more, he admitted that, “people here raid.  They raid well.  But it’s not like any of them are friends.”

And that really hits home for me.

When we were small, I had seriously considered leaving the guild for a raiding guild.  But I had the heartsinking reality that I would have to leave the guild I had come to love, come to make many friends with.  So much so, that many of us communicate outside of WoW (e-mail, Facebook, etc..).

When I look at guilds like Ensidia, who take planned days off real life work, just for raiding and grinding to lvl 80, I can’t help but ask myself, am I truly glad that I didn’t make that transition?  For me, the answer is yes.  For others, the answer may be no.  And I appreciate this.

I guess what I am whining at is, why is there a mentality that, if you want to be the most successful raider, you basically have to have a second job?  10M, 25M, 10M H, 25M H, Alt runs…  These are all things that have come up, not only from places like EJ, but blizz’s dev chats as well.

TONE IT DOWN PEOPLE!

And the same thing goes for Blizzard.  Stop pushing us to go into 25′s by penalizing 10s with inferior gear.  Stop pushing us with Emblem requirements that are so steep we have to run a heroic every single day to get gear.  Stop limiting our attempts at bosses to the point we have to gear up and raid on a SECOND toon to do progression.  Give us the raid, let us decide what is fun for us, not you.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Day of the Whiny Post”
  1. Sougent says:

    I can really identify with this post. I’m in a guild that I like quite a lot, they raid casually, just a few nights a week doing 10 mans. I’d like to raid with them, however I live on the west coast of the US and a 6pm start time is just a tad too early, but most of them are central/eastern time so it’s plenty late for them. So far, there doesn’t seem to be enough folks for a 2nd group later which leaves me with the choice of being content with working on achievements, trying to PUG raids which in my limited experience always end in failure, or finding a guild that raids on west coast time.

    I’ve spent all this time doing heroics and gearing up to the point where I can raid in ICC, but have only just been in the front door a few times rep farming. What’s the point of doing heroics for badges to gear up if you can’t use the equipment?

    And I agree with you on the emblem requirements. I’d like to see the bosses in FoS, PoS and HoR drop Frosts instead of Triumphs. Would make more sense, anyhow.

    A whiny post deserves a whiny comment, eh?

  2. jimmie says:

    Well if it makes you feel any better I live on the east coast and somehow ended up on a west coast realm so our raids always start late for me. With the way I work, swing shifts and lots of overtime I only get to raid around 2 or 3 times a month. So I ended up just starting alts on my days off I now have 9 level 80 toons most with 232 level gear but can’t get into raids cause everyone wants icc 25 man gear to do toc 10 or 25. I guess that’s my whiny post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

