Blizzcon Followup – The Good, The Bad, and The Undecided

Here we are in the Monday after Blizzcon.  I don’t think anyone expected the news that came, and Larisa hit the nail on the head perfectly – the buzz is back in the community 🙂  Here are my thoughts on the announcments:

The Good:  Diablo 3 News

I was acquainted with Blizzard through the Diablo series.  I think I was 10 or 11 when the first Diablo came out, and I remember my dad’s computer geek friends coming over saying something along the lines of “you have got to see this.”

I remember sitting up to 11 or 12 at night with him (computer games were our thing), and being genuinely SCARED about what was around the next corner.  I actually ran out of the room when I first saw the butcher.

Diablo was the first game that really taught me that computer games could be more than just computer games.  They can tell a story just as well as any movie, and immerse you in a way that cinema can’t.

The Bad:  Seeing “The Monk” as the next class.

I was hoping to see something a bit different.  The gameplay I have seen thus far seems unique, but something about this feels extremely disappointing.  I want something new, and not martial art-y.

The Good:  Heroic SFK and DM

No peeps, I don’t use VC abbreviation for Deadmines.  That is a pet peive of mine – it is not “Van Cleef” – its Deadmines for heavens sake.  If a lvl21 is LFM DM, they are not talking about Dire Maul.

Side rant aside, it will be great to go back into these dungeons as high level characters and romp around the way the dungeon was supposed to be designed.  These are probably two of the best classic dungeons, even if DM didn’t make my top 5 list, it is still one of the best.  This is also a step in the right direction of making old content matter for endgame raiders.

Bonus Points – Cross Realm LFG – I don’t pug very often, but when I do, this will certainly save me from the endless hours sitting in Irondalastormforge LF1M Healer.

The Bad:  ALL Classic Dungeons NOT being revamped

When, oh when, blizz are you just going to make Heroic dungeons that scale with the Expansion’s Max lvl Cap?  I would be willing to give up a shiny new raid content patch if you did a patch that did just this.  As I stated before, all we need are emblems.  Thats it.  You don’t have to itemize those dungeons.  Just give us emblems.

The Good:  Updated/New Guild Systems

This is the one thing that I am, more than anything, looking forward to in the new game.  As Officer of my guild, this is going to be great fun to help oversee.  I can’t wait to hear more about this in coming months.

Bonus Points:  Crafted/Guild bound items are going to be a nice perk for the guild.  And when someone leaves, we get that item back.  That will be sweet!

The Great:  Looking at Older Professions

Ohh, how I am going to enjoy reforging.  This adds an extra dimension to gameplay that we blacksmiths have been vying for since… well, forever.  Maybe they will also smooth out the old world skill lvl 300 “hump” that toons have, which is insanely expensive, or vastly time consuming to pass.

The Bad:  Requiring a New, Secondary Profession for Character Progression

Archaeology looks interesting and fun in its own right.  But now, they are pretty much requiring it for character progression from this point on.  That actually stinks.  I now MUST have another timesink of a profession (which may or may not be profitable, either, by the way) in order to be fully competitive in endgame.  I understand the philosophy with the talent trees being to bloated, but really?  A PROFFESION?

Possibly, might be, potentially, have to see how it plays out bonus:  Maybe this will lead to a profeesion oriented progression path?

The Good:  Simplifying of Stats

I read, about 3 months back on the forms, someone complaining about the growing complexity of endgame gear.  And I wholeheartedly agree.  Look at us ret pally’s – we have to worry about AP, ArPen, Hit, Crit, Agil, Str, Stam (ooh, too much STAM), Expertise – all of them to some varieng degree.  But it was getting rediculous when I was having to pull out a spreadshee to determine if a new peice of gear was actually an upgrade.  I’m all for interesting choices – but holy moley.

Potential Bonus:  Reforging might just allow us to take some items that would otherwise be sharded (i.e. tank gear) and reforge it to an upgrade.  Downside?  I wonder if there would be loot drama….

The Good:  Some Classes Had a Great Preview of Upcoming Changes

WoW is a big game, and ever changing.  But sometimes that change gets to be a bit much.  I am happy for those who were able to get a great preview of what is coming up.

The Bad:  Paladins Were Not Addressed

You know I had to put this in there.  No, this is not a case of QQ Moar.  This expansion, has undoubtably been the paladin expansion.  We have seen the most change, and brought us within an earshot of the rest of the classes/specs.  But we are still very much in a nebulous state.  Retribution was told that we were going to see an entirely new playstyle mechanic.  And yet, we were not even given an excerpt – well, outside of developer quips.  That, more than anything, is what disappointed me about the class preview panel.

Comments
4 Responses to “Blizzcon Followup – The Good, The Bad, and The Undecided”
  1. Bumbles says:

    I may have to make a BS……

    VC (you know I HAD to call it that) is going heroic….interesting. I’m glad they are redoing so much, maybe it will be a lot less boring to start a new alt now 😉 YknCornelious may actually get to come out and play.

  2. Lorgrath says:

    “I don’t pug very often, but when I do, this will certainly save me from the endless hours sitting in Irondalastormforge LF1M Healer.”

    Ouch!! I swear I’m coming back soon. Hang in there!

  3. Pypsi says:

    Granted, the proper name of the instance is “Deadmines”, but there is something to be said for learning the popular nomenclature of the game and the culture of the players. In general, particularly to veterans who were around for 60 endgame, referring to it as “DM” simply comes across as ignorant.

Leave a Reply

