My Win Is Not Your Loss

I have been trying to be a bit more religious with my diet and excersise plan.  I haven’t seriously been working out for about 6 months or more, and I feel it.  So it is back to the grind.

In any event, in trying to stay motivated I have been listening to pod casts by Jillian Michaels off of one of the local talk radio stations.  (Side Rant:  No, I am not a Jillian Fanboy – She is, however, a very informative person, and quite motivational.)  One of the topics that I think parallels WoW is the conversation of Winning and Loosing.

In WoW we can drive a direct analog to winning – you down that boss, win the BG, win the arena match, whatever.  In fitness it is a bit more blurry than that.  Yes, I ran on the treadmill for 20 minutes, but did I gain anything (or more appropriately, did I loose anything)?

In fitness, everyone can participate, but that may not be the result in WoW.

Case in point – Raiding.  Raiding requres three things to be successful – Experience (which can loosely be translated to skill), Gear, and people (you have to have 10 or 25 people, or you don’t down the bosses).  If you don’t have one, you can probably compensate with an abundance of the other two.  But rarely can you get by, missing two of the three parts (if you can, you have a rockstar group).

Casual raiding is an even bigger beast to tackle.  For example, my raid group only raids a max of 5 hours each week.  Thats 2 nights a week.  Other nights, people are off doing their own thing, playing alts, or, more importantly, continuing to gear up their toons.  The biggest problem for us is simply getting all 10 people together for long enough to raid.  And we are happy with the raid so far, its going just fine.

A couple of nights ago, one of my healers managed to find a decent group for ToC 10.  They managed to get down 3 bosses.  Being the raid leader, I was ecstatic!  Other members, who happened to be on that night, were not so happy.  They seemed to think that it wasn’t fair that he was getting loot, and we should be moving a bit faster to get into ToC.  They were also puzzeled at my reaction.

Why would I be happy that someone from my raid got into a raid that we can’t quite get into yet?

Because, his “win” is not really a loss for me, my guild, or my raid.

He gained two things to bring to the raid.  He gained experience (we won’t be going completely blind into ToC when we do get there), and he gained gear (which may or may not happen every time).  In short, he gained two key pieces that will make our raid stronger.

At the beginning of wrath, I was invited, along with a few other key people, to join in a Naxx run.  Eventually that naxx run became quite regular, and I was officially a part of the team.  This actually caused a bit of friction in the guild – at the time my little guild was in the awkward phases of not quite being ready for raiding, but mostly past heroics.

Eventually, however, when our group broke away from that little pug, we started our own raid group.  And the raid group went very successfully, in part, because of the experience (and gear) that we brought away from that other group.  Again, our “win” was not a “loss” for our guild.  It was through hard work and sweat that our initial group fought for the experience we got (not to mention gear).

In short – if you are a RL (especially if you are a RL of a casual raid), and you see one of your guildies getting in a VoA pug for the new boss, or a ToC 25 man pug – encourage them.  Because the experience, and to a lesser extent gear, that they “win” is most certainly not your loss.

Comments
4 Responses to “My Win Is Not Your Loss”
  1. Tutunkommon says:

    /agree! Reading strats and watching TankSpot videos are obviously helpful, but having someone there that has seen the fight first hand, and understands the nuances of what is going to happen are far better.

    I am just hopeful that our guild will still have some of the easier content on farm by the time my little piece of foliage grows up into a full tree and tries to get his HealZ on!

  2. Yarsh says:

    I just did a review of everyones gear and half (maybe less depeding rolls in raid, i know fire you have better dps gear) by gear score for TOC10. I have done a full clear of it twice it really not that bad if everyone knows the fights (but at is true of all raids) and plus I think it takes less time then Ulduar. I would like to hope that before the end of this year we would be raiding in toc 10.

  3. Yarsh says:

    by gear score is ready for TOC10** (correction to my last post)

  4. Lorgrath says:

    And this was demonstrated last night when we attempted Ony 10 for the first time with the team. Yarsh and I were the only ones who had really downed her since she was updated. This allowed us to get much closer (yeah we didn’t quite get her down, but got close!) than we would have been able to going in blind.

Leave a Reply

