On Silence, Rattling Cages, and Loudness… All At The Same Time

I am sure, most of you have heard of the drama that hit Single Abstract Noun by now.  And because of that, I will not reiterate it here, nor provide links to those sites that were involved/have propigated the issue.  I will not cause this drama to go on further than it has to.  This is the one and only time that you will see me post on this issue.

However, it is my time to speak up now.  I may not have a large readership or following like Matticus or Larisa, but dammit, this is my blog, and I have a voice here.

That being said, the events over the last few days, such as they were, could have, and SHOULD have been handled better by all parties.  I have stated before, that naming and shaming people in the blog-o-sphere is a down right dirty act.  Those that have done this over the course of the few days past are no better than the trolls that we all dispise so much.  It certainly puts a few people in a different light for me.

To the blogger (who I hope is still reading me:) ) that composed the initial post:

I may not agree with what you posted, but I respect you as a human being and as a fellow blogger.  You were the first person I chatted with in SAN, and while it was a short chat, I could tell that we could be great friends.  While I understand the reasoning for you leaving, I do not agree with it.  I hope you do some soul searching over the next few weeks, and find resolution in this mess.

To the blogger who (I doubt even knows I exist) wrote the response:

I do not agree with how you handled this.  I would like to say that I respect you as a blogger, but unfortunately, I can’t honestly say that.  You have a loyal readership, and that has to count for something.  I hope one day there is good reason for me to change my mind.

To everyone else:

If there is one good thing about drama (and I wouldn’t even stretch it that far), it is that we can learn something.

This week we learn that the blog-o-sphere is extremely vociferous when things are happening at their front doorsteps.

We can also learn that rattling cages, no matter if it is justified or not, is going to provoke an extreme response.

This week we heard the voices of many bloggers on the situation.  Unfortunately, as a result of one bloggers methods, a person, a REAL HUMAN BEING, has been put in a position to feel completely powerless and shameful.  She has lost her voice.

And that saddens me deeply.

Leave a Reply

