A Peek Into The Zodiac – Why I Am Taking A Break

I have a bit of a personal tidbit to share with you today.  Nothing big, but still personal none the less:

My birthday lands within the confines of Libra in the Zodiac.

I am sure that you all know about the Zodiac.  You probably have read horoscopes now and then, if just in fun.  And I do not put much stock in horoscopes.  I mean, if you read 5 different publications, you will get 5 different horoscopes, right?  But every now and then I am surprised.  Perhaps it is just one big cosmic coincidence, but it does happen that my horoscope is spot on.

Perhaps my fascination with the Zodiac stems from my grandmother and great grandmother.  They were pretty big in it, and taught me just a smidge about it when I was young.  The characteristics of each sign, the conflicts, the emotional tendencies, etc…

Well, today I am going to talk to you a little about my sign.  Perhaps you will be intrigued, but hang with me until the end, when I hope to tie it all in 🙂

Librans are symbolized by the scales.  In fact, if you look at the Zodiac, we are the only ones represented by an in-animate object.  Perhaps we could have been symbolized by two Koi – Yin and Yang, but alas Pisces beat us to the fish 🙂

The scale is actually very important and charactaristic of us Librans for two reasons:

First and foremost, we always strive for balance in all things.  Work hard, play hard.  Good must be balanced with evil (hence the Yin/Yang).  Librans, more than any other zodiac sign, have an extremely strong sense of justice.  You did something wrong, you must be punished.

Secondly, the scales represent the constant struggle we Librans have within our own mind.  If there is a decision to be made, we will weigh out the pros and cons to no end, constantly going back and forth over each side.  Often times, this is viewed as a fault, because it does take us so long to make decisions, particularly if they are big, life changing  decisions.  And for this reason – Librans usually make the right decision, unless there is some extenuating circumstance that tips the scales drastically that they were unaware of.

Another thing that librans usually posses is a very strong sense of objectivity.  They are able to remove themselves, their feelings, out of the mix, and weigh the pros and cons objectively to make the informed, correct decision.

Librans usually have a strong affinity to the arts – painting, sculpting, music, writing, preforming, etc..  Because of this, they are often thought of as a bit extravagant, or refined.  They also have a tendency to procrastinate.  But these two things are linked – they are the Librans way of escaping from one’s own mind, so to speak.  Not only do the arts assist the Libran in clarity of mind (quiet the mind, so they can focus on the decision), it also helps them to avoid the decision making process all together.  Though they are good at decision making, the process is wearing because of the constant analytics, and they often just need to escape, and gain some quiet.

I could go on and on (Libran’s tend to love the romance aspect of relationships, and can be quite passionate lovers 🙂  ), But I think I have enough to finish with my page here.

Increasingly, my life has felt out of balance, out of focus.  WoW has slipped from being a counterweight to all of my work, to more of a second job.  Unfortunately, I didn’t realize it soon enough, and now I have typical WoW burnout.  We have been having a few issues in our guild, and me being the co-GM that is on the most often I had to deal with most of them.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not upset about that.  I truly love my guild, and the people in it.  I couldn’t imagine NOT helping lead this great bunch of people.

BUT…  The perfect storm of responsibility, life, and summer have hit me.  At my job, I am busier than I ever have been, with more responsibilities than ever.  At home, we were preparing my younger sibling to leave for college (that happened this past week, and thank the lord it is over!).  And in WoW, I was dealing with a new issue sometimes twice a week, in addition to leading a raid, and attending a second.  Plus, you know, I have this pull to go outside and actually, you know, do something.

Top this all off with an extreme disconnect with my music, and my lack of time to write, both offline and here on the blog, and you have a soup that is not very pleasant for me.  You see, music is like air to me, to my soul.  I pride myself on my 50GB music database that spans the spectrum of everything.  But while this was going on, my music… just was out of sync with me (remember that whole balance thing?).  Up until about a week ago, I hadn’t listened to music for about 3 months.  I was listening to podcasts to keep the quiet away, and that was just suffocating.  And writing, it keeps my head clear in ways that nothing else does.

You see, right now the scale is tipped WAY too far in the responsibility direction for me.  I have been in-content for a while, but when I finally realized what was causing it (or more likely, just contributing to it), it was like a light snapped on in the darkness.

So, for that reason, starting tonight, after I log off for the night, I will be taking a two week respite from WoW.

But FEAR NOT!  I am not leaving you.   Writing, even if it is not about the issues, but different topics, does help me to focus my mind.  And I have lots and lots that I want to write about.  The paladin class, especially ret, is on the precipice of a major change, and there are issues that continue to go unadressed.

But I will also be doing some other stuff.  I have rekindled my passion for music (actually the day I made the decision to take a break from WoW, I got my iPod out and listened to it, rocking out for the first time in three months!), rediscovering my library at the same time I have discovered some great new music (HA!  My iTunes bill this month is…   well, a little bit larger than I would want it 🙂 ).  In addition to other things, I hope that I can come back to the game refreshed, and ready to hang out with the awesome people and the great guild that we have built, in a game that I absolutely adore.

Comments
5 Responses to “A Peek Into The Zodiac – Why I Am Taking A Break”
  1. Elyndynne says:

    *cough* sibling *cough* incontent isn’t a word…it is uncontent I believe.

  2. Elyndynne says:

    unaddressed…I’m bad.

  3. Tutunkommon says:

    I understand the whole ‘break from WoW’ thing. I am enjoying the my 5-boxers in a whole new way, now that I don’t have the pressure of $75 / month worth of fun I need to squeeze out of it.

    I have never paid much attention to zodiac. I know I am Aries, which means I am pushy or something, I think.

    Was it just me, or did Libran seem to turn into Librarian while anyone else was reading? HA!

    • Firespirit says:

      Yeah, I had to catch myself from writing it a couple of times 🙂

      I never really put much stock in it for the longest time, but when I was going through college, particularly psychology, and was exploring my personality, it just… fit. 🙂

  4. Nymesis says:

    Traditional Capricorn Traits

    Practical and prudent
    Ambitious and disciplined
    Patient and careful
    Humorous and reserved

    On the dark side….

    Pessimistic and fatalistic
    Miserly and grudging

    Some of that sounds like me, yet it also sounds like every other mofo I know.

Leave a Reply

