Depth Cometh – In The Form Of Holy Power

So, the twitter dev chat, while in the past always light, airy, a short look into the thoughts and minds of those whom we put our trust in to balance the game, just became a big deal. While insight is always appreciated, paladins got some love. In short – they dropped the nuke on our playstyle. Quotes courtesy mmo-champion.com.

Q: If Judgement of Wisdom is being removed from the game, are paladins getting a new Judgement so we don’t all have to use Judgement of Light?
A. There will only be one Judgement spell. This spell places a single debuff on the target with the effects currently associated with Judgement of Light and Judgement of Justice. The Judgement of Wisdom effect has been retired completely.

This is certainly not the big news, but I want to just poke at it first before we get to the heavy stuff.  No more judgement of wisdom.  Light and Justice will be rolled into one.  I assume Ret paladin’s mana return will stay with the judgement, but in the form of talents.  This change is in line with everything that they are doing with cataclysm.  Combine, make more efficient, make more fun.

Alright, now lets nuke the place.

Q: What is the goal when re-designing the paladin class? How do you plan to change rotations, talents, etc?
A. All of the paladin specializations will make use of a new resource called Holy Power. Holy Power accumulates from using Crusader Strike, Holy Shock, and some other talents. Holy Power can be consumed to augment a variety of abilities, including:

  • An instant mana-free heal: Word of Glory
  • A buff to increase holy damage done: Inquisition
  • A massive physical melee attack for Retribution paladins: Templar’s Verdict
  • Holy Shield’s duration is now extended by Holy Power
  • Divine Storm’s damage is now increased by Holy Power

Make sure to read that twice.

Ret will now have to juggle two resources.  And you know what I say to that?  WOO FREAKIN’ HOOO!!!!!

For far too long we have been a bit on the less complex side of things.  I enjoyed DPSing with my DK because it required me to pay close attention to what I was doing.  But ret, as much as I love and advocate good ret vs bad ret, it still was admittedly a simplistic playstyle.

I am having concerns though about Word of Glory.  We already have an instant heal – FoL with Art of War procs.  So I’m just a smidge concerned about our “utility” and being nerfed.

Love DS being upped by Holy Power – maybe it will stay in our single target rotation after all.

The two things that really stand out for rets are Inquisition and Templar’s Verdict (OMG, BETTER names guys, much better, not that I’m picky :).  First and foremost is inquisition – I can see this being another “button push” that rets get to up their damage.  I have been jockying for something.  This will be nice coupled with the Avenging Wrath changes, if they go live.

And Templar’s Verdict – I think is actually a little lackluster (though a big ole shiny yellow holy graphic would be nice).  This really just feels like a souped up version of Crusader Strike.

If this is just a small preview, I can’t wait for our “True Trees” to hit the PTR.

Comments
6 Responses to “Depth Cometh – In The Form Of Holy Power”
  1. vespers says:

    With the latest build, AoW no longer applies to FoL. So I think, seeing as Holy Shock has been removed from baseline pally and given to Holy as a lvl10 skill, Word of Glory is likely to be the go-to for self heals for both Prot and Ret.. and a more interesting one than Ret’s current AoW. Sure, in PvP, using an AoW proc for FoL instead of Exorcism is a tradeoff because you ain’t getting as many procs.. but with my uptime for AoW in a raid context, I can use both pretty much whenever I want. Having to use a very limited resource that can up my dps (in a way that isn’t at the bottom of my FCFS rotation anyway) to self-heal will make doing so MUCH more of a tradeoff for Ret.. so I don’t think we have to worry about nerfing because of that too much.. it is powerful but also more of a trade than it may appear at first.

    Also.. I’m not sure yet if I like Templar’s Verdict, but this is the first build it’s been in.. I’m sure we’ll see interesting things from our new ability. The new bottom-of-the tree talent, Zealotry, looks to be interesting in the ‘on-use ability that actually changes your rotation’ sort of way.. which is something we’ve really needed.

    However, as it applies to Divine Storm.. as I see it, having DS affected by Holy Power is most important because it means we’ll still use a rotation on AOE instead of just spamming DS (which, as a ‘true’ aoe, will likely have a reduced cooldown eventually.. that or our current 2pc bonus will be talented/baselined in). However, I am willing to bet that numbers will be adjusted so that using DS/spending Holy Power on DS on bosses will be inefficient. They say they don’t want us using it single-target, so they will make the numbers be so.

    • Firespirit says:

      Thanks for the comments vespers! I really wish that I had the ability to get in the beta 😦 Even if I got an invite, I would likely not be able to participate due to heavy, heavy restrictions on my internet data 😦 A wow client download would just about do it for the month for me.

      I was really hesitant of Verdict because it really just seems like a souped up crusader strike – just benefits from combo points. Guess were going to have to see how it plays out.

      I am really sad for the DS changes. Yes, I know its better for the game, but you have to admit, melee classes are really short on “cool” effects in combat. Give me a freaking awesome animation for Verdict, and I won’t gripe on this little sticking point. I’m sorry, but I thought that the DS animation totally characterized our combat art.

      • vespers says:

        None of this is from actually being in the beta.. I just follow the mechanics changes announced fanatically, keep an eye on beta patch notes and talent trees, that sorta thing. I wouldn’t actually play in the beta myself even if i got an invite. I don’t want any content spoilers. Just mechanics ones. I don’t look at screenshots except the official screenshot of the day either.

        And I do totally agree about DS.. I can follow the arguments against it from a mechanics point of view, but damn, I love watching that animation go off.. it really makes Rets stand out in the melee pack.

  2. Lorgrath says:

    So here’s some perspective from a Holy Pally:

    1. Loss of JoL. Kinda sucks, since this does do quite a bit of healing, but I can understand why they’re consolidating it, since organizing judgments and coordinating was a pain and no one really did it. With multiple holy paladins in a raid, it always became a battle to see who could keep their judgment on the boss longest to soak up the most heals. I’m assuming Ret pallies will always be judging this now if they’re in the group, if it uses the same coefficients (Ret almost always returned the best effect due to AP->SP). Wonder how this impacts Judgements of the Pure? Really the main reason why I judge now anyway.

    2. Word of Glory. OK really? Another healing spell? I know we used to be a class of just 2 heals, but with the addition of Healing Hands (or whatever it’s called…the AOE one), Divine Light (ugh…the names), and this, we’ve effectively doubled the number of healing spells we have. That’s not really a bad thing per se, but I’m afraid DL, HL, and FoL are all too similar. Do we really need 3 sizes of single target heals? Priests have a couple smart heals, single target heals, and AOE heals. I’m really hoping WoG is something different. Smart heal + mild heroism-like boost? Please?

    3. Didn’t they say they were moving from a refreshed Holy Shield to a non-refreshed version? Increased duration is nice, since its always falling off at the most inopportune time. The ability to go from 30 to 60 second Beacon was a life-saver, and this will be too.

    • Firespirit says:

      If I’m not mistaken, I think they said they are rolling the effects of JoL into the new judgement. I’m sort of Meh about that. If it is, great, but Id really like to see JoL become a talented ability, just like Ret will have talents for judgement of the wise for mana return. Have the baseline judgement be just the effects of JoJ, souped up by talents.

      I am also a bit apprehensive about the “overload” of healing spells. For those of us who are not used to juggling so many spells on a pally, its going to be a challenge to learn healing again.

      They did say that about sacred shield. It will become a 30 minute buff you put on one target (for a not so insignificant amount of mana), and it will just proc occasionally. At least thats what they said in an interview a while back. Can’t wait to see how my heal spec changes with this 🙂

  3. Tutunkommon says:

    Looks like a lot of classes are getting new resource management. The new soul shard system looks intriguing, as does the druids revamped ‘eclipse’ timer-plus-charge based resource.

Leave a Reply

