A Note On Blogging, And The Blog-O-Sphere

The activation of Operation Gnomeregan (and the corresponding Echo Isles), is the first signal to us, the wonderful fan-base, players, writers, bloggers, that the development team for Cataclysm thinks they are far along enough to start the introductions into the new expansion.  The beta is in high gear, tweaking, testing, churning out theory crafting spreadsheets, bug reports, content reviews, all in the name of making a better game.  And as it should be.

This is also the time when a lot of people decide to try their hand at blogging.   Everyone has an opinion about what direction the game could, should, just maybe go, and what better place to voice this than in your own personal blog?  A place where you can chat about your class, and be part of something bigger, the WoW community in general, the Blog-O-Sphere.

If you think that blogging is for you, great.  Give it a shot.  Dive in head first.  Blogging is definately a great pastime.  One of the world’s treasures is the incredibly thoughtful posts that bloggers write.  I can lose myself just perusing the different blogs out there.  But before you get started, you might want to think about a few things.

What are blogs?

There is an incredibly eloquent blog post, that for the life of me, I cannot find.  I wish I could, because it was a perfect iteration of what a blog is.  If the writer comes across this post, sorry, but I am going to paraphrase you.  Contact me and I will be happy to credit you!

ANYWAY, blogs are, first and foremost, very personal.  Think about it.   If you spend an average of 1 hour on each blog post, and you get up to 100 posts, thats 100 hours of your life.  Your thoughts, your work, your hopes, your fears, all posted for the world to see.  So for that reason, it is a bit like an online journal.  But not really.  You certainly aren’t going to ONLY be posting your day to day musings and happenings.

It’s a bit of a think tank.  I imagine you are going to post your ideas, thoughts, and wishes for (whatever topic you are going to focus on).  these things require time.  And research.  And great writing.

It’s a bit of a conversation with the world.  Everything you post will become public.  Little Jimmy and his brand new hunter will see that you called his most favorite awesomest toon a huntard.  And Big Billy Bob will dissect with a fine scalpel your theorycrafting, and call you out when your decimal point was 1 spot to far to the left.

A blog is a bit of a debate podium, allowing you to present your (hopefully well thought out) arguements to the world.  And you will likely get responses both for and against your ideas.  Lord knows that internet trolls thrive on debate 🙂

A blog is a LOT of work.  In addition to the technical aspects, what are you going to write about?  Will it be every day, once a week, twice a month?  And what happens when Beta is over, and you have nothing left to theorycraft?

And most importantly, a blog is….   Well, a blog!  It is all of these things, and much much more all at the same time.  And yet it is never completely any one of these things.  A blog is a block of clay for you to mold into what you will.  It can be an informative, helpful blog, or it can be random musings.  It can be a theory crafters think tank, or it can be a jack of all trades.

And then there is the Blog-O-Sphere

Having a blog, and choosing to interact with the WoW community, is a very fun thing to do (or heck, I would have given it up a LONG time ago).  But it, as most other things, are not perfect.

I equate blogging as to being in a huge auditorium, with your own little podium to speak from.  But for as far as the eye can see in all directions, there are other people doing this too.  Whenever you post on your blog, you are reading that post to the entire auditorium.  Everyone else can hear you, and you can hear them.  There is constant chatter.  Sometimes (as in these past few days with the Feminism debate), your thoughts and ideas become a full blown conversation across the web.  Sometimes they are left lonely and forgotten, until you move on to the next topic.

But really, it is this dichotomy that what makes the blog-o-sphere what it is.  You are in a room, with a podium and a loud voice, but there are countless others with the same loud voice, and podium.  It is empowering and overwhelming all at once.  Heck, Kelpsacovic commented on my last post, and I nearly passed out that I had gotten noticed by such a big name, and respected person in the community.  It was fantastic, and humbling at the same time.

And sometimes, just sometimes, we end up shouting at each other, instead of shouting to the room.  And things get messy.  Feelings get hurt.  And it is out there for the entire world to see.

So what are you waiting for?

If you enjoy writing, and you think you have what it takes to join us, STOP WAITING.  I am sure there is plenty of room (*scooches aside my podium, and conjures up another*) for another voice in our auditorium.  You never know, you might just surprise yourself at what you can come up with.  Oh, and don’t forget to stop by the Pink Pigtail Inn and say your hello’s to everyone.  First round of Larisa’s wonderful brew is on me.

Comments
10 Responses to “A Note On Blogging, And The Blog-O-Sphere”
  1. Rebecca says:

    Simply a great post – great support and advice for new bloggers. Nice one 🙂

    • Firespirit says:

      Why thanks Rebecca! I have been wanting to do this for a long time, but I wanted to get the sentiment just right. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  2. Larísa says:

    What a sweet and spot-on post about what it’s like to be a blogger. And thank you for pointing people in my direction. I’m delighted to serve any traveller that comes along the road!

    Syl at Raging Monkeys, who is new at blogging just wrote me a letter where she remarked ” it’s a huge and to be honest intimidatingly big blogging community”.

    I can vividly imagine that’s the first impression you get. After being around for a while alll those voices get so familiar. But to begin with it must be rather confusing. New bloggers shouldn’t feel stressed out to figure out the landscape. It will come naturally eventually. And hey, it IS big. I still “discover” blogs every now and then that I’ve never heard of before and that turn out to have been around for years and have an established readership. So little do you know.

    • Firespirit says:

      Thanks for the kind words Larisa!

      I remember commenting on your blog for quite a while, and finally deciding – Hey, this is so awesome, I should be doing it!

      And then I realized just how big the world really is. And to say that I am a part of it, if only a small voice in the auditorium… It gives me great pride 🙂

  3. theerivs says:

    Great advice, and you know what for all the hard work I put into my blogging, I get a whole bunch more, I met a wonderful group of people from this hobby of mine, learned alot, and hopefully improved my communication skills.

    Couple tidbits of advice….

    1. Find your own voice – There’s alot of great blogs out there, don’t try to be like them…don’t be afraid to be you.
    2. Have a thick skin – People are going to question you, and sometimes downright degrade you.
    3. Write because you enjoy to write, and because you enjoy the topic matter – If you write because you want to become popular, jack I got news for you I’ve been doing this 3 years, there is no ferrari in my driveway, and Natalie Portman hasn’t returned my calls yet.

    • Firespirit says:

      Absolutely wholly agree with all of your points theerivs! Especially point 1. If you can’t be yourself on your own blog, where in the world can you?

  4. Klepsacovic says:

    I will never object to praise. 🙂
    I found that post on the blogroll at Suicidal Zebra and the title caught my eye for some reason. So I guess that leads to another blogging thing: blogrolls! Loot them and loot them more to find all sorts of fun to read and reply to. they’re quite the source of inspiration. And sometimes people notice the hits coming in and link back and that gets the ball rolling. Also there’s the Syl strategy of commenting everywhere. But I think us bloggers are generally people who never shut up. 🙂

    • Firespirit says:

      There is one and only thing that I will ever ninja IRL – Blogrolls! I agree. Ugh… this reminds me, my blogroll is sorely in need of some maintenance!

  5. Scarybooster says:

    Yes, very awesome post. Not much else j can say, but awesome.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of at Light’s Fury has a wonderful post on Blogging, go Fire some […]



Leave a Reply

