A Little Cleaning, A Little Listening

Alright, alright… I took the time to update my blogroll.  Figuring that there is so much “drama” going around about blogrolls and this and that, let me address it right now, and be done with it.  This is the first, and absolute final time I will ever address this issue.

A was very privileged to grow up knowing my great grandparents, if not well (they did pass when I was still young), then well enough that I knew I could trust their advice, and learn some life lessons from them.

My great grandmother (and my grandmother as well), instilled the absolute love for cooking in me.  When I was very young, the week or so before christmas, I would go over to my great grandparents house, and me and my g. gma would cook.  Cook everything.  Dinner, lunch, breakfast, desserts.  We would also do her annual baking for all of her social circles.  It was a blast, and I hope one day that I can be half the chef she was.  She taught me that sometimes there can be joy in spilled milk, and sticky fingerprints; and that sometimes the things you pride yourself in may not last forever, but the pride does not have to fade.

From my great grandfather (who, sadly was one of the only father figures in my life – story for another time internets), he bestowed me with some good nuggets of wisdom.  From him, I have always had the desire to be a better man, a better person, a better brother, better son, better lover, better friend, better boyfriend, better…  well, better person in general.  And his nuggets of wisdom, if not fully understood or appreciated at the time, are certainly appreciated now.  I hope he is looking at me from wherever he is, with a sense of pride at the person, the man, I have grown into.

One of those little nuggets of wisdom he gave me was this:  “You never learn, if you do not listen.”  As I grew a little older, and had a different view of the world, he took that a little further:  “You will never understand, if you do not listen to those you disagree with.”

A few of you will notice that my blogroll, especially after the whole feminism debate, has a few people in it that has caused maybe a little bit of a divide in the Blog-O-Sphere.   Some people have removed, or deleted, or flamed, or whatever, one, two, or hell, who knows, maybe all of the people on my blogroll.   I don’t care.

My blogroll is nothing more, and nothing less, than blogs I read, that I think my readers may enjoy reading as well.  I do not agree with all of them.  I do not see 100% eye to eye with 90% of them (who does truly see 100% eye to eye with anyone, even spouses?).  But all of them I read.  All of them I read for specific reasons.  Some of them I read, specifically because they give me a different perspective on the world.  It is a perspective I may not agree with 100% of the time.  But if its one thing I have learned, one must change their own perspective once in a while, in order to become a better person, and look at one’s own life.  Being on the blogroll is in no way an endorsement (or non endorsement) for attitudes, ideas, thoughts, or anything.  It is simply that I read them, and think that you might like to read them too.

And you know what?  If you don’t like it, well tough.  You don’t have to.

And if that means I lose you as a reader too, well… I am sorry to say, but you might just need to change your perspective a little, and maybe listen just a little bit.

Comments
4 Responses to “A Little Cleaning, A Little Listening”
  1. Klepsacovic says:

    How dare you express your opinion. Really, this is the Internet, of all the places to express an opinion which might not be perfectly agreeable to everyone, here?

  2. theerivs says:

    Oh Oh, we’re gonna have a problem here. Please fix your blogroll to have mine appear in 72pt font…that is all.

  3. Tornadoii says:

    This post was fantastic. I am definitely subscribing and will be going through your website. If you aren’t already I’m guessing you would make a good guild leader.

    • Firespirit says:

      Thank you very much Tornadoii! I liked it a lot too 🙂

      And yes, I am a Co-GM of my guild. Thank you for the kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

